Taking the Student’s Pulse!

A school climate survey was conducted in March through a survey of students. 287 of our 350 students responded to the survey.  How are we doing?

Below is the table of some of the results from the survey.  The results in the columns represent the percentage of students who agree or strongly agree in one column and the percentage of students who disagree or strongly disagree in the other column.

Here’s an example of how to read the survey.  Take a look at statement #3 “Teachers Respect Students”.  89 % of students agree or strongly agree while 11% of students disagree or strongly disagree.  That means that about 9 out of every 10 students agree and 1 out of every 10 disagree.  While I would like this to be 100%, I believe 9 out of 10 is is a positive result.   Is 78% of the student body stating that they enjoy school and learning with classmates good enough?   That means out of every 10 students, at least 2 students do not feel this.

There are many positive items in this list of student responses.  Which item do you find positive?  There are some items that are not positive.  Which item do you find to be a negative response or a negative reflection of our school?  What can be done?

It is possible to break down these results into grade levels as well.  Which statements would you like to see the results by grade level?

LCS students – this is your school! Which results would you like to see improved and how can we improve the school?  Post a comment….what do YOU THINK?

% Agree + Strong Agree

% Disagree  + Strong Disagree

1 I feel safe at school

94

6

2 My belongings are safe at school

51

49

3 Teachers respect students

89

11

4 My teachers care whether I am successful.

92

8

5 Teachers are fair to everyone

62

38

6 Students treat each other with respect and get along with each other.

64

36

7 Schol is fun

72

28

8 The school counselor provides information and support I need.

84

16

9 I feel there is an adult at school that I can go to when I need help

78

22

10 I understand how I earned the grades I received.

80

20

11 Teachers return my work in a timely manner

60

40

12 Teacher feedback helps me learn

82

18

13 My teachers challenge me.

90

10

14 My teacher has high expectations for student behavior in my class.

90

10

15 I participate regularly in class.

87

13

16 I enjoy school and learning with my classmates.

78

22

17 My parents come to parent conferences.

86

14

18 My parents regularly come to school presentations, workshops, special meetings (besides conferences).

58

42

19 I bring my own laptop from home.

65

35

20 I use library laptops.

57

43

21 My internet service at home is good.

75

25

22 I regularly check my school email.

88

12

23 I use Managebac to access course assignments and submit work to my teacher

98

2

24 At LCS, I think we do unique and different things with technology.

75

25

25 I participate in the after school sports program.

68

32

26 I participate in the after school, non-sports activities.

62

38

27 I am satisfied with the non-sports activities program.

62

38

28 I am satisfied with the after school sports program.

75

25

29 I own a personal laptop

85

15

30 I speak a language other than English at home

74

26

 What do you think?

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *